Michigan Campus Compact Annual Recognition Awards

Faculty, staff, students, administrators, family and friends gathered at MiCC’s annual Awards Gala on April 7, 2016 to recognize the outstanding dedication, innovation, and spirit of engagement that permeates our network.  We appreciate the presence of national Campus Compact’s President, Dr. Andrew Seligsohn, who shared his vision, humor and enthusiasm.


Outstanding Community Impact:

  • Wayne Bersano, Ferris State University
  • Elizabeth Brajevich, Michigan State University
  • Ebony Moon, Mott Community College
  • Haley Moraniec, Eastern Michigan University
  • Harrison Moynihan, Northern Michigan University
  • Mallory Rivard, Saginaw Valley State University

Commitment to Service:

  • Albion College: Autumn Bernicky, Candace Cullens
  • Alma College: Danielle Harm, Katherine Vaillancourt
  • Aquinas College: Elizabeth Sensing, Laura Rico
  • Central Michigan University: Caitlin Clough, Stephanie Ralls
  • Davenport University: Luke Grzybowski, Julie VanBommel
  • Delta College: Angelo Kapp, Melanie Taylor
  • Ferris State University: Makayla Holloway
  • Grand Valley State University: Jessica Mac Vane, Jameson Schryer
  • Hope College: Lauren Boyle, Brianna Roegner
  • Kalamazoo College: Susmitha Daggubati
  • Kellogg Community College: Stacey Hapner, Maria Hurtado
  • Lansing Community College: Kristina Groenleer, Bridget Hudson
  • Michigan State University: Melissa Maestas
  • Madonna University: Nicole Carlin, Catherine Crombez
  • Mott Community College: Tanya Ziacan
  • Northwestern Michigan College: Nichole Hartley
  • Oakland University: Farha Hanif, Shelby Toft
  • Olivet College: James Collins, Casey Eldridge
  • Saginaw Valley State University: Natalie Schneider
  • Siena Heights University: Kiersten Diachun, Brittany Trout
  • Schoolcraft College: Nour Al-janabi, Andrea Andrade Chavez
  • University of Michigan-Flint: Jenna Bozied, Jamie Cole
  • Wayne State University: Joshua Arndt, Ira Memaj
  • Western Michigan University: Chartanay Bonner, Sarah Mills

2016 National Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellows Award 

  • Katelyn Michalski, Ferris State University
  • Olivia Walcott, Northern Michigan University


Champion of Engagement 

  • Dr. Ethan Lowenstein, Eastern Michigan University
  • Dr. Brian Ivory and Mr. Dale Weighill, Mott Community College
  • Dr. Richard Szwaja, Western Michigan University

Innovations in Community Impact 

  • Kalamazoo College: Swim for Success
  • Michigan State University: Dialogue and Expression for Community Change
  • Mott Community College: Mott Campus Clowns’ Anti-Bullying Initiative
  • Saginaw Valley State University: Battle of the Valleys

Michigan Engaged Campus of the Year:  Kalamazoo College

John DiBiaggio Inaugural Beacon Award for Presidential Leadership: Dr. Daniel Little, Chancellor, University of Michigan-Dearborn

Network Leader: Shawna Ross, Central Michigan University

Lifetime Achievement: Anne Ritz, Alma College

SAVE THE DATE:  2017 Council of Presidents Meeting and Awards Gala will be Thursday, March 23 at the Kellogg Center on MSU’s Campus, East Lansing.  More details to come!